Awards, DDS, Dental Hygiene, Faculty and Staff

Students, staff and faculty honored at 2024 Spurgeon Awards

The annual Spurgeon Awards Banquet was held recently to honor ASOD students, faculty and staff.

The Spurgeon Dental Society is the UNC-CH Adams School of Dentistry student governmental body. It promotes the highest professional ideals and standards in preparation for the practice of dentistry and oversees student body organizations.

Spurgeon was founded in 1980 by DDS students. Membership is extended to students currently enrolled in the DDS, dental hygiene and dental assisting programs at the UNC-CH Adams School of Dentistry. Associate membership may be granted to students pursuing advanced dental education.

The organization is named in honor of the late Dr. J.S. Spurgeon of Hillsborough, NC, who is regarded as one of North Carolina’s most outstanding dentists.

Dental hygiene faculty at the annual Spurgeon Banquet.

The 2024 recipients are as follows:

Dr. Murry Wade Holland and Mrs. Helen Holland Award in Prosthodontic Dentistry:
Savannah Buchanan

Dr. Lynwood C. Turner III and Mrs. Mary Ellison Strother Turner Student Travel Award:
Brennan Harrison

Dr. Mark Hyman Student Travel Award:
Brazil Trip

Dr. Robert E. Tormey, Jr. Memorial Award:
Rachel Maynor

Dr. Ron Strauss Community and International Health Award:
Uganda Trip

Dr. William “Will” Kelly III and Mrs. Casey Kelly Award:
Jessica Smith Mooney

Zane Eargle Jr. Memorial Award:
Oscar Lasserra Salgado

Jim & Alice Ann Kelly Clinical Faculty Award in Honor of Matt Wood:
Dr. Stephen Randall

Kois Center Study Club of North Carolina Award:
Rebecca Porter

Pankey Study Club of Eastern North Carolina Award:
Dr. Savita Gupta

James A. Harrell, Sr. Citizenship and Leadership Award:
Jeanie Chung

The Dr. Richard F. Hunt, Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence in Pre-Doctoral Teaching:
Dr. Don Tyndall

Four Corners Study Club Faculty Mentoring Award:
Dr. Don Tyndall

Lane & Associates Dentistry “We Love to Make You Smile Award”:
Jacob Locklear and Landon Guy

Dr. Rey Carnevale and Dr. Wilson Shoulars Jr. Scholarship:
Christine Sulzer

Hinman Scholars
DDS: Aidee Manzano

Alberta Beat Dolan Scholarship Award
Mariana Alcaraz | Emma Thomas

Linda Paschall Jarvis Memorial Scholarship
Kassandra Manjarrez | Eternity Moore

Priscilla Levine Scholarship
Esmeralda Mundo Rosendo

Markie Wicker Thomas Award
Mackenna Myers | Brooklyn Rushing

The Carolina First Campaign Scholarship
Jessica Torain | Tabitha Richardson

Dental Hygiene Scholarship
Sergio Campanur Leyva

Omicron Kappa Upsilon Alumni Membership
Savannah Buchanan | Briawna Dildy | Jackie Le | Skylar Mcgaughey | Margaret Mcguire | Bruno Segovia-Chumbez | Fatemeh Sayyady | Christine Sulzer | Karen Zhao
Faculty: Dr. Laura Jacox
Honorary: Jennifer Harmon
ASPID: Pinar Adimci Doganci

William S. Kramer Award of Excellence
Dariel Liakhovetski