Awards, Pediatric Dentistry

Pediatric Dentistry Residents Receive Research Awards from AAPD 

Miguel Samancas-Pallares, DDS, and Deepti Karhade, DMD, both first-year pediatric dentistry residents at the UNC Adams School of Dentistry, won research awards from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD). They were recognized for their award-winning research at the AAPD’s Annual Meeting, held virtually in May. 

Samancas-Pallares received one of eight Graduate Student Research Awards for his project titled, “Racial/ethnic differences in the clinical presentation of early childhood caries (ECC).  

Karhade received one of eight Graduate Student Research Awards for her research, “An automated machine learning classifier for early childhood caries prediction. Of the eight entries, Karhade was selected to receive the Ralph McDonald Award, the most prestigious award given to pediatric dentistry residents and recent graduates 

“The AAPD Graduate Students Research Awards is the highest research honor pediatric dental residents can obtain not only here in the US but also Internationally,” said Division of Pediatric and Public Health Chair, Jessica Lee, DDS, MPH, PhD.  

“The fact that both Dr. Simancas and Dr. Karhade were awarded this in the same year is an outstanding achievement. The graduate program in pediatric dentistry has always led the way in patient care, service and research. We are very proud of our residents and grateful for the honor they have brought to our program and to the Adams School of Dentistry.” 

Second-year pediatric dentistry resident, Laura Heimisdottir, DDS, received both of these awards at the 2019 AAPD Annual Session. 

The AAPD, founded in 1947, is the not-for-profit professional membership association representing the specialty of pediatric dentistry. Its 10,800 members put children first in everything they do, and at the highest standards of ethics and patient safety. The AAPD, in accordance with its vision and mission, advocates optimal oral health for all children. It is the leading national advocate dedicated exclusively to children’s oral health.