Appointments, Faculty and Staff

Weintraub Stepping Down as Dentistry Dean

Jane Weintraub, dean of the UNC School of Dentistry, today announced that she will step down from her position on June 30, 2016 at the conclusion of her five-year term.

“It has been a great honor and privilege to serve as dean of the School of Dentistry,” said Weintraub in an email to the school on Monday morning. “We have all the right ingredients: great facilities and great people, and that special ‘Chapel Hill’ sauce. Together our school provides a world-class education for our students, expert and highly specialized care for our patients and the environment to develop ground-breaking discoveries – as well as caring community service to improve the health of North Carolinians and beyond. Thank you for your support during my tenure as dean and for your continued support as we make this transition.”

Weintraub began her appointment as dean on July 1, 2011. After a semester-long research leave beginning in August 2016, she will continue her faculty appointment in the Department of Dental Ecology with a joint appointment in the Gillings School of Global Public Health.

“The Chancellor and I greatly appreciate Dr. Weintraub’s thoughtful leadership and dedication, and we both thank her for her commitment to Carolina and to the School of Dentistry. And we are glad that she will continue serving the school and the University,” said Provost Jim Dean.

During her tenure as dean of the School of Dentistry, Weintraub has led the school to win two William J. Gies Awards, increased funding from the National Institutes of Health/National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, made key curriculum updates and recruited 40 new full-time faculty. The school has seen a 22 percent increase in DDS program applications, receiving approximately 1,400 applications for 82 positions. Also under her leadership, the school has averaged $5.3 million in private donations, including a record $9.4 million in 2013-14.

The University will start its search for a new dean beginning in 2016, with more information forthcoming.