Thirteen School of Dentistry Graduate Students Honored at UNC Graduate School Recognition Celebration

Thirteen MS and PhD students from the School of Dentistry were honored for exceptional contributions to research at the Annual UNC Graduate School Recognition Celebration on April 6, 2011. Each student received full or partial funding for his/her research project through a student-initiated application to a funding source external to the University. Dr. Matson, Dean of the Graduate School, noted “These students are what make us a leading research university – they are the lifeblood of the research enterprise”. The following students were honored as Prestigious External Fellowship Winners:

Melanie Alazza Oral Biology
Shannitta Bridgers Pediatric Dentistry
Angela Broome Oral & Maxillofacial Radiology
Christopher Canales Orthodontics
William Cherry Pediatric Dentistry
Joao Ferreira Oral Biology
Kristen Fritz Orthodontics
Kervin Mack Orthodontics
Lindsey McCarthy Orthodontics
Matthew Olmsted Orthodontics
Thatsanee Saladyanant Oral Biology
Dennis Weber Orthodontics
Sodsi Wirojchanasak Oral Biology