Appointments, Faculty and Staff, Operative Dentistry

Ritter selected as 2011-12 ADEA Leadership Institute Fellow

Dr. Andre Ritter, associate professor and graduate program director of Operative Dentistry, has been selected as a Fellow in the 2011-12 American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Leadership Institute.

The year-long program is designed to develop the nation’s most promising dental educators to become future leaders in dental and higher education. Twenty-four dental educators nationwide were selected for the institute’s 2011-12 class, its 12th year.

The 2011-12 Fellows will participate in programs focused on further development of their personal and interpersonal and administrative competencies for leadership, on legislative issues and on faculty development. The 2011-12 program orientation took place in March at the ADEA Annual Session in San Diego.

Dr. Andre Ritter is an Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director, and Director of Clinical Research in the Department of Operative Dentistry at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC) School of Dentistry. He received his dental degree from the Federal University of Santa Catarina (UFSC), Brazil, and a M.S.D. degree from UNC. Dr. Ritter also has certificates in Operative Dentistry from UFSC and UNC. He is actively involved in clinical and laboratory research, particularly in the areas of biomaterials and caries risk assessment and management. He also maintains a part-time intramural practice devoted to restorative and esthetic dentistry. Dr. Ritter has published several journal articles, research abstracts, and book chapters. He is a member of several dental organizations, including the American and International Associations for Dental Research, the European Caries Organization, and the International College of Dentists. Dr. Ritter has presented many scientific papers and continuing education courses regionally, nationally, and internationally.

Other SOD faculty who have recently graduated from the ADEA Leadership Institute include Dr. Janet Guthmiller, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Dr. Lauren Patton, Director of GPR and Department Chair of Dental Ecology, and Professor Rebecca Wilder, Graduate Program Director of Dental Hygiene and Director of Faculty Development.