Faculty and Staff, Research, Students

25 Teams Participate in 33rd Annual Table Clinic Day

The UNC-Chapel Hill School of Dentistry’s Lab 347 was bustling with activity and filled with posters on the afternoon of April 18, as 25 teams presented table clinics covering a wide variety of oral health information.

Dean John N. Williams spoke to table clinic presenters and asked questions about their oral health topics.

Eight DDS students, four graduate students, seven dental assisting students and 36 dental hygiene students participated in the 33rd Annual Spurgeon Dental Society Table Clinic Day. Charmaine Porter-O’Reilly was the event chair, David Walker was co-chair and Dr. Ricardo Padilla served as faculty adviser.
Participating students were:

  • From the DDS program: Anthony Basil, Byron Capps, Savannah Gelesko, Alice Ma, David Wesley Parker,  Jonathan Reside, Justin Valentine and Ryan Wood;
  • From the graduate program: Fang Gu, Georgia Macedo, Mary Beth Nebel and Sonali Rathore;
  • From the dental assisting program: Susanna Clendenin, Carolyn Currin, Taryn Dudley, Krystel Mazur, Darci Noonan, Liz Owens and Alicia Pecorella; and
  • From the dental hygiene program: Sumitha N. Ahmed, Melaku Aklilu, Erin Barnes, Deven Billingsley, Sandi Bledsoe, Rachel Booker, Autumn Bright,  Latrice Bruce, Lindsay Carlton, Annie Chu, Whitney Coleman, Kristen Cook, Kristi Deeley, Sarah Douglas, Porshca Eley, April Fields, Erin Ghim, Wendy Gonzalez, Ashley Hall, Brittanie Harris, Stephen Harward, Cindy Keck, Gabrielle Kern, Merileigh Kreutzer, Seulah Lee, Brittany Minichbauer, Megan Mosley, Lori Rowe, Bethany Sessoms, Miranda Shropshire, Carmen Stanco, April Stansbury, Kristy Williams, Ali Wright, Whitney Zanella and Anna Zbroinska-Dickerson.

Table clinic judges were Dr. Susan Hadler, Dr. Glenn Reside, Dr. Greg Essick, Dr. Ralph Leonard, Mary George and Dr. Glenn Minsley, all faculty members within the School of Dentistry; and Dr. John Olmsted, endodontist and immediate past president of the American Association of Endodontists.
Awards went to the following teams:

  • UNC Dental Alumni Basic Science Award: The $150 award for excellence in basic science went to Mary Beth Nebel for her table clinic titled “Modulation of Tactile Responsivitiy in Somatosensory Cortex by Noxious Heat: Implications for Female TMD Subjects.”
  • UNC Dental Alumni Clinical Sciences Award: The $150 award for excellence in clinical science went to David Wesley Parker for his table clinic titled “Retained Third Molars with Orthodontics and Orthognathic Surgery.”
  • Spurgeon Dental Society Dental Assisting Award: The $100 award for outstanding table clinic presented by a dental assisting student went to Alicia Pecorella and Darci Noonan for their table clinic related to odontology.
  • Spurgeon Dental Society Allied Dental Award: The $150 award for outstanding table clinic presented by an allied dental education student went to Carmen Stanco, Stephen Harward, Gabrielle Kern and April Fields for their table clinic titled “Dental Health Knowledge, Attitudes and Behavior Among College Students.”
  • Spurgeon Dental Society Graduate Award: The $150 award for outstanding table clinic presented by a graduate student went to Georgia Macedo for her table clinic titled “Effect of Chemical Cross-Linking Agents on Dentin Bonding.”
  • International College of Dentists Award: The $150 award for the outstanding table clinic with the most originality in concept, material and presentation which is a significant contribution to the clinical practice of dentistry went to Anthony Basil for his table clinic titled “Speech Adaptation to Lingual Braces.”
  • Dentsply International Award: This award sponsored by Dentsply International, presented to the most competitive table clinic to compete in the national competition at the 2008 annual meeting of the American Dental Association, went to Ryan Wood for his table clinic titled “Molecular Mechanisms of Mandibular Distraction Osteogenesis and the Role of Parathyroid Hormone.” The award includes an all-expenses-paid trip to San Antonio, the meeting location.
  • Upsilon Upsilon Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon Excellence in Science Award: The $250 award to the presenter exhibiting excellence in the sciences went to Jonathan Reside for his table clinic titled “Ik-Bα and Cell-Mediated Bone Repair: Preliminary Results.”
  • Procter & Gamble Oral Care Excellence in Science Award: The $250 award to the presenter exhibiting excellence in the sciences went to Alice Ma for her table clinic titled “Novel Nano-Composite Material Prepones Osteoblast Differentiation.”
  • Sigma Phi Alpha Xi Chapter Table Clinic Award: This award, which comes with a one-year membership in the UNC Dental Hygiene Alumni Association, went to Kristy Williams, Miranda Shropshire, Brittanie Harris and Seulah Lee for their table clinic titled “Access to Dental Care in Nursing Home Facilities.”