Research Day

38th Annual Research Day | March 2, 2022

Thank you to everyone who made the 38th Annual Research Day a resounding success!! 2022 Program

A special thank you to all of the presenters and contributors of the 56 abstracts presented as ORAL AND POSTER PRESENTATIONS as well as to the leaders of our four HANDS ON WORKSHOPS – it is your hard work that made our Annual Research Day a success! Finally, thank you to OUR KEYNOTE SPEAKER – Dr. Roger B. Fillingim, Distinguished Professor and Director of the UF Pain Research and Intervention Center of Excellence.

The Adams School of Dentistry’s Office of Research Discovery and Innovation hosts an annual Research Day to highlight our committed to inspiring, creating and supporting all aspects of research, discovery and innovation. This is highlighted by the diverse, inspiring and high-quality accomplishments of our students, faculty, staff, research fellows and visiting scholars being shared at the Research Day. It is clear from the array of work presented, that investigators within the school interact and collaborate with investigators on the UNC-Chapel Hill campus, as well as with leading investigators and institutions elsewhere in the United States and abroad.

CONGRATULATIONS to all of the award winners which were announced at the AWARDS RECEPTION!

Derek T. Turner Student Research Award – DDS Category

1st Place: Bijan Mahboubi      Mentor: Chengwin Li, PhD

2nd Place: Zachary Burk        Mentor: Kimon Divaris, DDS, PhD

Derek T. Turner Student Research Award – MS/Resident Category

1st Place: Miguel Simancas-Pallares, DDS      Mentor: Kimon Divaris, DDS, PhD

2nd Place: Joy Gerasco, DDS, PhD     Mentor: Shannon Wallet, PhD

Derek T. Turner Student Research Award – Post-Doctoral Category

1st Place: Surya Tripathi, PhD     Mentor: Tony Amelio, PhD

2nd Place: Marta Musskopf DDS, MSD, PhD      Mentor: Cristiano Susin, DDS, MS, PhD

James Bawden Student Research Award

Angeliz Rivera-Concepcion      Mentor: Patricia Miguez, DDS, MS, PhD

ADHA Graduate Student Clinician’s Research Award

Allison Carron      Mentor: Antonio Moretti, MS, DDS

Hinman Student Research Symposium Award

Emily Imes     Mentor: Kimon Divaris, DDS, PhD

SCADA Student Clinical Science and Public Health Research

Kaitlin Jones      Mentor: Kimon Divaris, DDS, PhD

NC AADOCR Research Day Award

Miguel Simancas-Pallares, DDS      Mentor: Kimon Divaris, DDS, PhD

Steven Offenbacher Award for Excellence in Dental and Craniofacial Research

Kamaira Philips      Mentor: Jim Beck, MS, PhD

Philips KH, Zhang S, Moss K, Ciarrocca K, Beck JD. Periodontal disease, undiagnosed diabetes, and body mass index: Implications for diabetes screening by dentists. J Am Dent Assoc. 2021 Jan;152(1):25-35.

James Bawden Mentor Award

Dr. David Zajac, PhD, Division of Craniofacial and Surgical Care

Burton C. Borgeli/SCADA Faculty Advisor Award

Kimon Divaris, DDS, PhD, Division of Pediatric and Public Health