Awards, Dental Foundation

2022 Best of Dentistry Stewardship Dinner and Award Ceremony

After a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Dental Foundation of North Carolina (DFNC) was thrilled to resume its annual tradition of the Best of Dentistry Stewardship Dinner and Award Ceremony on the evening of October 21, 2022. Hosted in Alumni Hall at the Carolina Club, the event honored the generosity of our alumni and friends and paid well-deserved recognition to our esteemed award winners from the past two years.

Additionally, the event celebrated the ongoing success of the UNC Adams School of Dentistry’s Campaign for Carolina, which reaches its official conclusion on December 31st of this year. Since the Campaign’s start in 2014, it has raised more than $96 million—137% of our $70 million goal!

During the evening, attendees were introduced to the ninth Dean of the UNC Adams School of Dentistry, Dr. Janet Guthmiller. After serving as Dean of the College of Dentistry at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, Dr. Guthmiller has returned to Chapel Hill where she previously served as Adams’ Associate Dean for Academic Affairs from 2007 to 2014. Welcome back, Dr. Guthmiller!

Group photo of Best of Dentistry event attendees

Dean Guthmiller poses for a photo with attendees of the Best of Dentistry dinner. From left to right: Dr. John Olmsted (MS 1977 – Endodontics & Adjunct Professor), Ms. Frankie Olmsted, Ms. Anita Hyman, Dr. Mark Hyman (BA 1980, DDS 1984), Dean Janet Guthmiller, and Mr. Scott Guthmiller. Photo by Chris Pope.

Dr. Edward Swift, the recipient of two awards that evening, received special recognition for his leadership over the past year as Interim Dean. The school honored him with a video compilation of personalized messages from students, faculty, and staff thanking him for his time and efforts in the role.

Over the course of the evening, the UNC Dental Alumni Association (DAA) and the DFNC recognized the following award recipients:

Dental Foundation of North Carolina Distinguished Service Award
Dr. L’Tanya J. Bailey (2021)
Dr. Harald O. Heymann (2022)

The John C. Brauer Award (DAA)
Dr. Samuel P. Nesbit (2020)
Dr. George H. Blakey III (2021)
Dr. Edward J. Swift, Jr. (2022)

Honorary Lifetime DAA Membership
Dr. Edward J. Swift, Jr. (2021)
Dr. Glenn J. Reside (2022)

Dental Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Mark E. Hyman and Dr. David A. Felton (2020)
Dr. Anita Sawhney (2021)
Dr. J. William Claytor, Jr. (2022)

Distinguished Alumnus Award (DAA)
Dr. W. Stan Hardesty (2020)
Dr. Robert P. Hollowell, Jr. (2021)
Dr. Anbec DeShield-Mayes (2022)

By conferring these awards, the DFNC and the DAA applaud the significant accomplishments and contributions of the UNC dental community!