Awards, Faculty and Staff

Former Dean Receives AADR Presidential Citation Award 

Pictured: Dr. Tim Wright presents Dr. Carol Stamm with the AADR Presidential Citation Award in honor of her husband, Dr. John Stamm.

John Stamm, DDS, DDPH, the UNC Adams School of Dentistry’s fifth dean (1984-2004), is the recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) 2020 Presidential Citation Award.  

The award acknowledges an AADR member, who by the assessment of the AADR president, has made significant contributions to the association over a period of time, shown dedication to the association, and has helped to further the mission of the AADR through their service and commitment. 

“It was without reservation and truly a pleasure to nominate John Stamm for the AADR Presidential Citation,” said James Bawden Distinguished Professor and former president of AADR, Tim Wright, DDS, MS.  

“John retired a few years ago so he is no longer a member of the AADR, but his broad and important contributions to dentistry, dental research and the IADR/AADR made him an ideal candidate for this deserving recognition.” 

Stamm joined the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) in 1975 where he served as president of the Canadian Division from 1982-1984 and as treasurer of IADR from 1997-2001. He joined the AADR when he came to the United States in 1985.  

While with the association, he served both as the IADR Finance Committee chair from 2000 to 2001, and as the IADR Nominating Committee chair from 2007 to 2008.  Stamm also served as chair of the IADR Innovation in Oral Care Awards Committee.  

Stamm has served as a science consultant for the American Dental Association, the World Health Organization and the Federation Dentaire Internationale.  He also has served on the Board of the American Dental Association Foundation and on the Board of the Sunstar Foundation for Oral Health Promotion in Japan.  

Stamm is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fellow of both the American and the International Colleges of Dentistry, and he was selected as the 2003 International Dentist of the Year by the Academy of Dentistry International.   

He was recognized with an honorary doctoral degree from the University of Montreal in 2010 for his contributions to academic dentistry and to dental health policy development during his 14 years at McGill University, in Quebec, Canada, as well as his contributions to dental epidemiology in the United States and Canada.  

Stamm retired in 2016 after 32 years of service to the school. Under his tenure, the school completed two capital campaigns, constructed a new building (Tarrson Hall), and underwent two accreditation cycles. Stamm is also responsible for establishing the Adams School of Dentistry’s first two PhD programs.  

About the American Association for Dental Research 

The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) is a nonprofit organization with nearly 3,400 individual members whose mission is to drive dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being. AADR is the largest Division of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR). To learn more, visit