Awards, Dental Hygiene, Students

Liebkemann Receives the ADHA Sigma Phi Alpha Award

Sarah Liebkemann, BSDH, was selected as the 2019 recipient of the American Dental Hygienists Association’s Sigma Phi Alpha Excellence in Journalism Award.  

The award recognizes an original manuscript that exhibits outstanding quality, depth and significance of research, comprehensive evaluation of available literature and expertise in the given subject. Award winners receive $1,000 and their article published in the Journal of Dental Hygiene.  

“Receiving this award is such an honor, and reinforces my passion for preventive dentistry, curriculum development, and research,” said Liebkemann. “I am so grateful to the faculty and administration of the UNC Adams School of Dentistry, who continuously foster a positive environment for growth at our school. I am especially thankful to Elizabeth Kornegay and Jennie Brame for serving as my honors thesis advisors throughout this project.” 

“Sarah is an outstanding representative of the Adams School of Dentistry and exemplifies characteristics of a dedicated oral health care provider and lifelong learner,” said Professor and Director of the Graduate Dental Hygiene Education Program, Jennie Brame, RDH, MS. “This honor recognizes her achievement in the promotion of our initiative to lead the way for integrated care and collaborative scholarship. I am very proud of her accomplishment in receiving this award and look forward to her continued studies in our graduate program this fall.” 

Liebkemann is a 2019 graduate of the UNC-CH Adams School of Dentistry dental hygiene program and will begin her studies toward a master’s in dental hygiene education at the Adams School of Dentistry in the fall. She served as president of her dental hygiene class, co-president of the Inteprofessional Education Student Interest Group, secretary of the Teledentistry Student Group, and as the dental hygiene representative of the Adams School of Dentistry’s American Dental Education Association (ADEA) chapter. 

The Sigma Phi Alpha award is sponsored by Johnson & Johnson, Consumer Inc. and Sigma Phi Alpha.  

Founded in 1923, the American Dental Hygienists’ Association is the largest national organization representing the professional interests of the more than 185,000 registered dental hygienists across the country.