Awards, Dental Hygiene, IPEP

Students Recognized at 2018 ADEA Annual Session

School of Dentistry faculty and students headed to Orlando, Florida last week for the American Dental Education Association’s Annual Session & Exhibition. For four days, participants engaged with dynamic plenary sessions and workshops, networked with other dental, allied dental and dental education colleagues, and more.

This year, two students were recognized with awards: Roxanne Dsouza, RDH, and Yuri Oh, RDH, both second-year students in the Master of Science in Dental Hygiene Education (MSDH) program. Dsouza is the first place winner in the Student Poster Awards for her work, “Implementation of Oral Health Education in Nursing Curriculum.” The first place prize winner receives $600.

Her research presented findings from her master’s research project, which featured a unique collaboration with the UNC-CH School of Nursing. Her thesis committee chair is Jennie Brame, RHD, MS, associate professor in the School of Dentistry’s Department of Dental Ecology. Other committee members include Rocio Quinonez, DMD, MS, MPH, associate dean for educational leadership and innovation at the School of Dentistry, and Sara Hubbell, DNP, RN, assistant professor in the UNC-CH School of Nursing.

“I am so thankful to have won first place for my research among students from across the nation,” said Dsouza. “I am grateful for my wonderful mentors and I could not have done this without their support. I hope to continue to promote IPE research as a future dental educator.”

“Roxanne demonstrates the true spirit of our school’s mission and values,” said Brame. “She is innovative and collaborative, and inspires to increase interprofessional educational experiences for all students. She strives to be impactful, and leads by passion and a desire to transform oral health education.”

Oh was presented with the ADEA/Crest Oral-B Scholarship for dental hygiene students pursuing academic careers. The scholarship supports dental hygiene students who want to work in academia and are actively enrolled in an education program beyond an associate’s degree. Two students are selected each year to receive $2,000 toward their tuition and fees as well as subsidized travel to the ADEA Annual Session.

“I am delighted and grateful to have been selected for this award,” said Oh. “I’m so thankful for the support of excellent professors, mentors and students in my academic journey, and I look forward to advancing my career as a dental hygiene educator.”

“In continuing with the tradition of exceptional graduate students, Yuri has shown a remarkable dedication, determination, and an unwavering positive attitude,” said Brame. “She is a compassionate and innovative teacher, and a true leader in dental hygiene education. I am thrilled that she has been recognized by receiving this award.”
The theme for this year’s annual session was “Vision 2030,” with the idea that the time to plan for 2030 was right now, in 2018. The annual meeting focused on how to leverage the many changes in the healthcare landscape to transform the field of dentistry. Next year’s session will be held in Chicago, Illinois and the theme will be “Celebrating Our Collaborative Spirit.”