Appointments, Faculty and Staff, Pediatric Dentistry, Research

Wright Elected Vice President of the American Association for Dental Research

Members of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) elected Dr. J. Timothy Wright to serve as the next vice president of AADR. His term will commence at the conclusion of the 46th AADR Annual Meeting in San Francisco, Calif., March 22-25, 2017.

“Working with the leadership and members of the AADR will be an exciting and rewarding endeavor as we work to support and advance craniofacial and dental research,” said Wright, James Bawden Distinguished Professor, director of strategic initiatives and member of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry at the UNC School of Dentistry.

As vice president of AADR, Wright will work to support the AADR mission and the vision of the Board of Directors. After serving as vice president, he will remain on the AADR Board of Directors for three consecutive terms as president-elect, president and immediate past president.

Since joining AADR in 1981, he has participated in a broad range of the Association’s activities, including serving in the leadership of the AADR Alabama Section and the AADR North Carolina Section. He also served as a part of the AADR Board of Directors as a member-at-large from 2013-16. This year, Wright was inducted into the inaugural class of AADR Fellows, which is a program designed to recognize leaders of AADR and individuals who have served AADR in various ways throughout their careers.

Wright earned his DDS from West Virginia University School of Dentistry and an MS and a certificate in pediatric dentistry from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. His postdoctoral training includes a fellowship in cariology research and a teacher training fellowship in medical genetics.

His research focuses primarily on mineralized tissues and genetics. This led to his election as counselor for the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) Mineralized Tissue Group from 2000-05, and later as the group’s vice president and president. Wright has served on the IADR Science Information Committee and Fellowships Committee. In 2014, Wright received the IADR Basic Research in Biological Mineralization Award, an award considered one of IADR’s highest honors.