Awards, Faculty and Staff, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Faculty, Alumni Win at National Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Meeting

At the recent American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, three of the four major Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Foundation (OMFS) awards presented were awarded to UNC alumni and faculty.

The Torch Award, which recognizes those who have provided exemplary service to the OMSF, went to Dr. David E. Frost, MS ’80. The Torch Award is considered to be the highest award bestowed by the OMSF for outstanding service to the organization.

Dr. Timothy Turvey, chair of the school’s Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, received the Research Recognition Award from OMSF. It recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to their specialty through their participation in and support of research.

The Dr. Daniel M. Laskin Award, which is presented annually to the most outstanding article published in the Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, was awarded to former school dean and current faculty member Dr. Raymond P. White. The paper was titled “Effect of Quality Life Measures on the Decision to Remove Third Molars in Subjects with Mild Pericoronitis Symptoms.” The paper’s lead author was Dr. Dana T. Tang; White’s co-authors were Dr. Ceib Phillips, Dr. William R. Profitt and Dr. Lorne D. Koroluk.