Awards, Faculty and Staff

Samuelson Wins University Distinguished Teaching Award

Dr. Allen Samuelson, director of special care dentistry and clinical associate professor in the Department of Dental Ecology, was honored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Chancellor Carol Folt with one of four annual Distinguished Teaching Awards for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction.

“Dr. Samuelson is not only a compassionate clinician, but is an outstanding educator,” said Dr. Christine Downey, one of the nominators. “He is not only patient centered, but student centered.”

Samuelson, who joined the UNC faculty in 1996, directs all didactic and clinical geriatric dental courses at the school. He teaches in both the General Practice Residency Program and the Advanced Education in General Dentistry Program. Samuelson, who is a popular figure at the school, is most well known for his excellent patient care, his positive attitude and his willingness to be accessible to his students whenever they need him.

As a winner of this award, Samuelson received a one-time $5,000 stipend and a framed citation commemorating the honor.

“I am honored to receive this award and I would like to thank the many superlative, insightful and enthusiastic teachers I have had all my life beginning with my parents and siblings,” said Samuelson. “I have been blessed beyond measure by God, family, friends and former and present faculty at the school of dentistry. Furthermore, it is a privilege to work with so many wonderful students!”

The selection committee focuses on finding winners who stand out in the classroom and outside of it by providing memorable lectures and how they interface with students outside of lectures. Winners of this award are regarded as impactful and as those who standout in the mind of their current and previous students. The selection committee narrows the applications to a few, calls the nominators for references, and then provides a small group of finalists to the chancellor for selection. The winners are selected by Chancellor Folt.