Awards, Faculty and Staff, Pediatric Dentistry

Wright Honored for Excellence as a Faculty Advisor

Dr. Tim Wright, James W. Bawden Distinguished Professor and chair of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry, received the Student Clinician of the American Dental Association‘s (SCADA) 2013 Burton C. Borgelt/SCADA Faculty Advisor Award during the American Dental Association Annual Session in New Orleans.

The award, which is presented annually by SCADA, recognizes a faculty advisor who has distinguished themselves from their colleagues through their mentorship and service to their students. Dr. Wright received the award during the DENTSPLY Student Clinical Research Program Awards Ceremony at the ADA Annual Session.

“Having committed my career to teaching, there is no greater honor than being recognized as an outstanding mentor to students,” said Wright. “Student researchers represent the future of our profession and helping guide them as they begin this journey is incredibly rewarding.”

Wright’s dedication to research is demonstrated by his involvement not only in his own projects, but through his work with the school’s Student Research Group – which he’s led for more than 13 years. In his role as a student research mentor, Wright has helped foster research interests for the dental students, and directly mentored students at the pre-dental, dental, Ph.D. and post-doctoral levels. His personal research interests include the diagnosis and treatment of developmental defects in teeth resulting from hereditary and environmental conditions, and understanding normal tooth development. Wright has published more than 10 papers and book chapters, and has presented on his research at numerous national and international conferences.

SCADA was founded in 1959 as a joint venture between DENTSPLY International and the ADA. The continuing objectives of the program are to encourage original clinical research and work at the undergraduate level, promote student membership in the ADA and introduce dental students to society activities.