Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Research, Students

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Presents, Wins at Annual Meeting

At the 95th annual American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) meeting, recently held in Orlando, the school’s Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery had a strong presence with multiple residents, faculty and alumni presenting research and, in some cases, winning awards for their research and contributions to the field.

Four program residents presented abstracts at the meeting and two presented electronic posters. Abstract presentations were given by current residents Dr. Carrie Baldwin, Dr. Eric Burgon, Dr. Elda Fisher and Dr. Carolyn Discus Brookes. Additionally, second-year residents Dr. Caitlin B.L. Magraw and Dr. Alexander H. Consky presented electronic poster presentations.

Of the six residents who presented, both Burgon and Brookes were honored with awards. Burgon was recognized as the best abstract presented during his session. Brookes received the 2013 Straumann Resident Research Award, which is presented annually at AAOMS to recognize the resident who demonstrates superior standards of research and clinical application. This is the second time that Dicus Brookes has won this award over the last five years, a UNC resident has won this accolade four times.

Other presenters included two school faculty members: Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Chair Dr. Tim Turvey and Department of Orthodontics Chair Dr. Emile Rossouw. Additionally, four school alumni presented, including: Dr. R. Bryan Bell, Dr. Ramon L. Ruiz, Dr. Paul S. Tiwana and Dr. John Zuniga.

Also notably, school alumnus Dr. Larry Nissen was honored with the Dr. Robert V. Walker Distinguished Service Award at the meeting. The award honors significant and lasting contributions to the oral and maxillofacial surgery profession. Nissen is a past president of AAOMS, the International Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (IAOMS), the Florida Dental Association and the Florida Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, to name a few. He currently serves as president of the Southeastern Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons and chair of the IAOMS Foundation. Nissen maintains a private practice in Merritt Island, Fla.

“Seeing the success and presence of our current residents, alumni and faculty at such a prominent, national meeting is truly indicative of the caliber of residents, alumni and faculty we have at UNC and in the department,” said Turvey. “It is exciting and rewarding to see everyone excel and be recognized in this specialty and at this meeting.”