Awards, Faculty and Staff, Pediatric Dentistry

Divaris wins the Frank Farrington Service and Leadership Award

Dr. Kimon Divaris, research assistant professor in the Department of Pediatric Dentistry, was named the recipient of the Frank Farrington Service and Leadership Award of the Southeastern Society of Pediatric Dentistry (SSPD).

This award, given post-residency, is granted based on merit of leadership or service that includes, but is not limited to, community-based dental service, leadership or service in a local, state, or national dental organization. As a recipient, Divaris was recognized at the SSPD annual meeting in Atlanta in January, where he was awarded a $2,000 cash prize. Divaris’ application was supported by a letter of recommendation co-written by Dr. Tim Wright, chair of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry, and Dr. Jessica Lee, director of the Pediatric Dentistry Graduate Program.

In the letter, they wrote, “Dr. Divaris’ strong sense of commitment to advancing our profession along with his strong scientific training makes him uniquely qualified to serve as an expert consultant to this very important council. In organized dentistry, Kimon has demonstrated that he has truly found his calling. He has a natural ability to work with other professionals, develop consensus and above all else, do what is right for the children.” The letter also cites Divaris’ role in the revision and update of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentists policies and guidelines as well as his desire to use the most up-to-date science to impact how the department practices.

The Frank Farrington award honors the former SSPD executive director, Dr. Frank Farrington, for his 26 years of service and leadership to the organization. According to their website, SSPD aims to advance the science and art of pediatric dentistry, and to encourage and advance the achievement of a high and ethical standard of practice, education and research in all phases of dentistry for children, adolescents and the handicapped. They also encourage the continued education of the health professions and the public concerning recognized scientific advancements in the dental and general health of children. Membership in the Society is open to pediatric dentists in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Members must also hold membership in the American Dental Association or National Dental Association and the American Academy of Pediatric Dentists, and be engaged in the full-time practice, research or teaching of pediatric dentistry.