Awards, Periodontology, Students

Periodontology Residents Win Two Prominent National Awards

Two UNC School of Dentistry periodontology residents received national periodontology awards at the recent American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) meeting.

Dr. Shaoping Zhang, a second-year periodontology resident, received the Balint Orban Award, which is recognized as the highest clinical research award annually offered in the field. He was selected out of a pool of 117 abstracts and eight finalists to win the award in clinical science for his research paper, titled “Epigenetic Regulation of Tumor Necrosis Factor-α (TNFA) in Periodontal Disease.” His research mentors were Dr. Silvana Barros and Dr. Steven Offenbacher.

Additionally, Dr. Roger Arce, a third year resident was named the AAP Educators Scholarship recipient. This award carries a $25,000 cash award and recognizes an outstanding student who aspires to pursue a dental career in education. Arce is one of only two national recipients of this award.

“Drs. Zhang and Arce should be incredibly proud of receiving these awards,” said Dr. Salvador Nares, graduate periodontology program director. “Both the Orban Award and the AAP Educators Scholarship are distinguished honors given out by the AAP and carry with them a lot of merit and respect. We’re incredibly proud of their accomplishments.”