Awards, DDS, Dental Hygiene, Faculty and Staff, Students

2009 Spurgeon Awards Announced

More than 200 students, faculty and staff members and other guests attended the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Dentistry’s 2009 Spurgeon Dental Society Annual Awards Banquet on April 15.

The event, coordinated by the Office of Academic Affairs and the Spurgeon Dental Society, is designed to recognize faculty, staff and student contributions to the profession of dentistry and to the academic mission of the School.

Spurgeon officers are David Walker, president and third-year dental student; Maggie Wright, vice president and second-year dental student; Elise Watson, treasurer and first-year dental student; and Quiara Scrima, secretary and first-year dental hygiene student.

Dr. Scott Eidson, clinical associate professor of operative dentistry, received the Richard F. Hunt Memorial Award for Excellence in Predoctoral Teaching, the School’s most prestigious teaching award. Students nominate and select the recipient of this honor, which is in memory of Dr. Richard F. Hunt, a member of the DDS Class of 1955.

“He has the knowledge of a private practitioner and the heart of an educator,” a nomination letter said of Eidson. “Not only does he consistently challenge us as students to strive for excellence, he provides us with the necessary information and tools to carry out those challenges.”

Following is a full list of the awards and recipients, in the order in which they were presented:

Spurgeon Staff Appreciation Award: Terry Barker

Dental Assisting Appreciation and Teaching Excellence Awards: Lynn Smith and Dr. Ralph Leonard (faculty), Darryl Mangum (staff) and Lauren Connor and Christen Tillet (students)

Dental Hygiene I Appreciation and Teaching Excellence Awards: Jennifer Brame (faculty), Joan McKenna (staff) and Megan Williams (student)

Dental Hygiene II Appreciation and Teaching Excellence Awards: Charlotte Peterson (faculty), Mary Hinrichs (staff) and Wendy Gonzalez (student)

First-year DDS Appreciation and Teaching Excellence Awards: Dr. Susan Hadler (faculty), Tammy Collins (staff) and Kevin Ricker (student)

Second-year DDS Appreciation and Teaching Excellence Awards: Dr. Richard Fetterman (faculty), Lisa Mauldin (staff) and Charles Cooke (student)

Third-year DDS Appreciation and Teaching Excellence Awards: Dr. Richard Fetterman (faculty), Joan McKenna (staff) and Aaron Roberts (student)

Fourth-year DDS Appreciation and Teaching Excellence Awards: Dr. Scott Eidson (faculty), Yan Ying Yao (staff) and Chris Yi (student)

Dwight C. Clark Memorial Awards: Chris Yi (fourth-year DDS), Annie Chu (second-year dental hygiene) and Ashley Manring (dental assisting)

Student Research Dedication Award: Lindsey Rennick

Student Research Achievement Award: David Walker

Student Research Mentor Award: Dr. Sylvia Frazier-Bowers

American Student Dental Association (ASDA) Award of Excellence: Ryan Londry

ASDA Faculty Appreciation Award: Dean John Williams

Kermit Knudtzon Academic Award: Melanie Goforth-Moore

Sara O’Daniel Dental Assisting Clinical Excellence Award: Avery Cox

Dental Assisting Clinical Achievement Award: Kelley Grindstaff

Linda Stewart Professional Excellence Award: Christy Inman

Sheila F. Harris Scholarship: Christen Tillett

Faye Watkins Scholarship: Carol Atkins

Susen Darst Scholarship: Connie Carleton

Hu-Friedy Golden Scaler Award: Bethany Sessoms

Hinman Scholar: Sumitha Ahmed

Alberta Beat Dolan Scholarship Award: Emily Nichols

Sigma Phi Alpha Dental Hygiene Honor Society: Anna Zbroinska-Dickerson, Sumitha Ahmed, Merileigh Kreutzer, Kristy Williams, Connie Harbinson and Cherri Kading

Dental Hygiene Alumni Award: Megan Mosley

Procter & Gamble Preventive Dentistry Award: Wendy Gonzalez

N.C. Dental Hygiene Academy of Advanced Studies Award: Whitney Zanella

American Association of Public Health Dentistry Award: Latrice Bruce

Dental Ecology Community Achievement Award: Kristy Williams

American Association of Public Health Dentistry’s Student Recognition Award: John Miller

Marvin J. Block Community Dentistry Achievement Award: Tammy Artis

Eleanor A. Forbes Clinical Achievement Award: Ali Wright Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition Award: Znna Zbroinski-Dickerson

Linda Paschall Jarvis Memorial Scholarship: Amy Wilson

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Certificate of Merit Predoctoral Student Award: Charmaine Porter-O’Reilly

Academy of Operative Dentistry Award: Ryan LaDell Wood

American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry Award: Jonathan Michael Reside

American Academy of General Dentistry Senior Student Award: Jenny Swartz and Jacob Condon

American Association of Endodontics Award: Andrew Glassick

American Association of Orthodontics Award: Kathryn Hawn

American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology Award: Laura Davies-Ludlow

American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology Award: David Wesley Parker

AAOMS Dental Implant Student Award: Brad Lewallen

International College of Oral Implantologists – Sullivan-Schein Dental Predoctoral Achievement Award: Luz Estrada

Academy of Osseointegration Award: Mit B. Patel

AAOMS Achievement Award: David Wesley Parker

Dr. Susan P. Foy Award: Luz Estrada

Hillenbrand-Lupton Student Award: Ryan Milewski

American Academy of Periodontology Award: Jonathan Michael Reside

Grover C. Hunter Award of Periodontology Award: Deana Cook

Quintessence Periodontology Award: Laura Barringer

DENTSPLY International Award in Removable Prosthodontics Award: Graham Farless

Southeastern Prosthodontics Award: Luz Estrada and Dr. Lyndon Cooper

Monte Miska Fixed Prosthodontics Award: Zachary Harrison

American College of Prosthodontics Award: Christie Sanford and Alex Yarborough

Best of the Best Prosthodontics Award: Mit Patel

Academy of Craniofacial Pain Award: William Stanley

American College of Dentists Leadership Award: Andrew Glassick

Pierre Fauchard Academy Scholarship: Tate Jackson

Pierre Fauchard Academy Senior Student Award: Ryan Wood

International College of Dentists Student Leadership Award: Nurica Goode

Zane Eargle Jr. Award: Patrick Galloway

James A. Harrell Sr. Citizenship and Leadership Award: Byron Capps

Robert E. Tormey Jr. Memorial Scholarship: Rana Kaleel

Henry Zaytoun Award: Veeral Saraiya

Richard Hunt Award for Excellence in Predoctoral Teaching: Dr. Scott Eidson

The event was supported by the UNC Dental Alumni Association, the Dental Foundation of North Carolina, Dr. Benjamin W. Brown and Dr. B.C. Raynor.