Awards, Periodontology, Students

Teo, Bobetsis Named Finalists of Prestigious Orban Award

Drs. Marlene Teo and Yiorgos Bobetsis have been named finalists for the American Academy of Periodontology’s 2006 Balint Orban Memorial Prize in Basic Science.

Teo, of Singapore, will receive her master of science degree in periodontology in August from the School of Dentistry and plans to return to Singapore, where she will pursue private practice and teaching. Bobetsis, of Athens, Greece, received his doctorate in oral biology in May from the school and is currently completing a military obligation in Greece. He plans to enter full-time academics in periodontics.

The American Academy of Periodontology has selected eight finalists nationwide (four in basic science and four in clinical science) for the award, based on submitted written research abstracts. Finalists will make oral presentations of their abstracts at the academy’s annual meeting in San Diego in September.

Teo’s abstract is on “Altered Post-Translational Modification in Bone Collagen in Diabetic Rats.” She conducted this research with her mentor, Dr. Mitsuo Yamauchi, who is the Sunstar distinguished professor of oral biology.

Bobetsis’ abstract is on “Campylobacter rectus Infection Impairs Placental Function and Development in Mice.” He completed this research with Dr. Steven Offenbacher, who is the OraPharma distinguished professor of periodontal medicine.

The American Academy of Periodontology has a membership of 8,000 periodontists and general dentists in all 50 states and around the world who specialize in preventing, diagnosing and treating diseases affecting the gums and supporting structures of the teeth. The Orban award is named for the late Dr. Balint Orban, who was a pioneer in periodontal histology and pathology.