Academy of Operative Dentistry Honors Stephen Bayne with Hollenback Prize

Stephen Bayne is the 2005 recipient of the Academy of Operative Dentistry’s prestigious Hollenback Prize. The Prize was presented during a ceremony on February 24 during the Academy’s annual meeting in Chicago. The Prize is given for research and scientific achievements that have contributed substantially to the advancement of restorative dentistry.

Bayne was recognized for work that has spanned two decades and has had a profound impact on the understanding, knowledge and clinical application of modern restorative systems. In presenting the award, Nairn Wilson, Dean and Head of the Dental Institute, King’s College London at Guy’s, King’s and St Thomas’ Hospitals, stated that “Dr. Bayne has been innovative, meticulous and, most importantly, inspirational in his research. International standing in research at the level achieved by Stephen Bayne is rare and most worthy of singular recognition. Notwithstanding his research eminence, he is a teacher of the highest caliber.”

The Hollenback Memorial Prize was established in 1975 as a memorial to the late George M. Hollenback for his distinguished research and leadership. The work of Dr. Hollenback and other Prize recipients have had a beneficial effect on improving the quality of dental practice.