Dental Foundation

Dental Foundation of North Carolina 2004-05 Fellowships Awarded

The Dental Foundation of North Carolina (DFNC), which was established in 1950 for the sole purpose of securing and managing funds to support the UNC School of Dentistry, is pleased to announce the following recipients of post-doctoral fellowships for academic year 2004-2005.

Thanks to the generosity of alumni and friends of the School of Dentistry, the DFNC is able to provide more than $150,000 to these deserving students.

Advanced Education Fellowships

Dr. Deborah Conner

Dr. Judy McIntyre

Dr. Quay Parrott


Elsie and Baxter Sapp Fellowships

Dr. Sajitha Kalathingal

Dr. Paige W. Miller

Dr. Nimet Adatia

Dr. John Kim


Ann and G. Randolph Babcock Fellowship

Dr. Steve Dickensp

Dr. Blayne Thibodeau

Dr. Maria Mora

Dr. John Williams

Dr. Marlene Teo

Dr. Roy Rosado

Dr. Ricardo Walter

Dr. Fernando Rojas

Dr. Preeda Pungpapong


Baker Fellowship (Orthodontics)

Dr. Lucia Cevidanes


Andrew M. Brooks Fellowship (Orthodontics)

Dr. Nicole Scheffler

Dr. Jason Herring

Dr. Eric Bednar


Theodore Oldenburg Fellowship (Pediatrics)


Dr. Elizabeth Shick

Dr. Ron Hsu



Dr. Kavita Mathu-Muju

Dr. Ron Hsu

Dr. Halley White


Jack Menius Fellowship (Pediatrics)

Dr. Elizabeth Shick


James B. Congleton III Fellowship (Pediatrics)


Dr. Tom Bouwens

Dr. Matt Goslee

Dr. Jenny Jackson


Mary Breeland Fellowship (Pediatrics)


Dr. Martha Hardaway

Dr. Elizabeth Shick



Dr. Martha Hardaway

Dr. Elizabeth Shick


Jacob Freedland Scholarship (Endodontics)

Dr. Michelle Grim

Dr. Hong Chen

Dr. John Williams


Freedland Advanced Dental Education Fellowships

Dr. Yan Zhong

Dr. Gloria Mejia

Dr. Allan Dovigi

Dr. Hong Chen

Dr. Michelle Grim

Dr. Christina Karamini

Dr. Jannie Lee


Nakao/GC America Fellowship (Operative)

Dr. Paula Yamazaki