Appointments, Endodontics

School of Dentistry Alumnus Elected President of ADA

101701ChadwickUNC School of Dentistry graduate Greg Chadwick, DDS, MS was installed as president of the American Dental Association (ADA) at its annual meeting in Kansas City, Mo. Oct. 17, 2001. Chadwick, an endodontist from Charlotte, received his DDS degree in 1974. Following graduation, he worked in private practice but soon returned to the school for specialty training, receiving a master’s in endodontics from the school in 1976.

“The faculty, staff and students are immensely pleased that Dr. Chadwick will be the first UNC Dental School graduate to serve as American Dental Association president, and the first North Carolinian to serve that 0ffice in over 50 years. Dr. Greg Chadwick is superbly prepared to provide strong and visionary national leadership for the dental profession at a time when our country’s health care challenges are more complex than ever before. I am confident that Dr. Chadwick’s leadership at the ADA will benefit dentistry and all Americans,” said John Stamm, dean, at the UNC School of Dentistry.

Chadwick has served in other leadership roles with the ADA including the ADA Board as 16th District (North Carolina, Virginia, South Carolina) trustee from 1996-2000. His board responsibilities included serving as liaison with ADA Council on Communications, Dental Benefits and Government Affairs: as a member of the Strategic planning Committee and the task force related to the ADA’s Web site: as chairman of the Dental Information Technology Committee.

He was president-elect 2000-01 Chadwick’s career has included several leadership roles in North Carolina: president of the North Carolina Dental Society, the Second District of North Carolina Dental Society and the Dental Foundation. He is a founding member of the American Association of the Charlotte Holiday Conference. He is also a member of the American Association of Endodontists and the Academy of General Dentistry. He is a fellow in the American College of Dentists, Academy of Dentistry International, and Pierre Fouchard Academy.

Chadwick is the third dentist from North Carolina to be elected to this position in the 142-year history of the ADA. Vines Turner of Raleigh was the 46th president in 1908-09 and Clyde Minges of Rocky Mount was 85th in 1948-49.